top of page

Burnt out stylists

I never thought I'd be defined as the "mean burnt out stylist" until I saw a tiktok video. I felt attacked 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣. Ill take that title though.


I feel like I saw what many of these Generation Z kids see. "I gotta work until I'm 65?!?!" .Man this is crazy. After the pandemic I got a wake-up call. My dad passed away in 2020 and it's like a cloak was lifted off of my eyes.

(Above: Tiktok video with my reaction)


I knew it was coming to an end when I fired my 1st child client EVER in over 20 years. I was the queen of patience.....until I wasn't. My top priority went from "the customer is always right" to "it's gonna take me 6 months to calm all the way down from this so....you're fired".


With the culmination of the pandemic's effect on consumers in the United States and my personal problems, I knew I was burned out. My tolerance is almost non existent. I raised my prices because salon history shows that raising prices weeds out most of the crazies.

______________________

Dawn Michelle Williams is a licensed cosmetologist for the state of Maryland since the year 2000. She is the owner of Dawn Michelle's Salon in Hyattsville Maryland specializing in natural hairstyles. For information & appointments visit https://DawnMichelleSalon.com


Notes from the author:

I have a "Tales from a hairdresser " YouTube exclusive podcast series https://tinyurl.com/TalesFromAhairdresser

Those episodes drop 1x monthly during "on" seasons.. These blog articles dedicated to this subject drop every Tuesday at 3 pm EST.


During our "on" seasons for "Research Shows

….." podcast I have a segment dedicated to" Tales from a hairdresser ". Episodes air weekly Tuesdays at 3pm EST on most streaming platforms

. Click the link below to listen.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page