top of page

Dry hair doesn't need GREASE

Updated: Jun 23, 2023

Dry hair needs hydration, not grease. Click here to listen to my podcast episode.

For far too long, we in the black community have made the two mutually exclusive. Dry hair needs hydration. For example in other races when they experience dry hair, there is

an immediate correlation between the dry hair and factors such as fluid intake, medication, shampoo, conditioner etc. All of these factors effect dry hair.


Here are a few tips for home hair care to assist with dry hair


They are much more gentle. They won't rip the hair out like how cotton towels will.


Use sulfate free & or moisturizing shampoos

Many times solutions to hair issues start with the shampoo & conditioner. Sometimes a simple switch may make a difference. Here is a link to purchase it.


Satin is a soft material that's gentle on the hair

Being in the cosmetology field for over 2 decades I've found that when people complain about dryness, they always say "but I grease my hair!". I'm guilty of the same statement. It's taken me years to surrender to the FACT that certain shampoos & conditioners do more harm than good.


So with purchasing more expensive products for my clientele comes increases in prices. I was avoiding purchasing more expensive products for years in order to keep costs down when in actuality it was counter productive.

To be honest, each time I've switched to a higher quality shampoo it was the result of the cheaper one being out of stock. It was a sign from Allah that I needed to surrender.


See more of my blog articles here :



Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page