top of page

Trade secrets stay SECRET after you switch hairstylists | NUT JOB CLIENTS

Tales from a hairdresser

- Opinion piece from a licensed cosmetologist


If something happens and you have to switch hairstylists, what happens if you need to know what color or products they used in your hair? In my opinion, as long as we parted ways on decent terms I'll share the trade secrets.

Things happen. Sometimes people move away or emergency occurrences prevent the hairstylist client relationships from continuing. I've had instances where clients part ways in an unnecessarily traumatic way. Perhaps they cause a scene or make false complaints to induce a negative reaction from me. Many adults lack the emotional intelligence to part ways cordially.

(Story of the nut job client)


I had a client cause an unnecessary debacle then play victim. When she didn't get the reaction she wanted she was embarrassed. I was shocked when her daughter called me not to make an appointment but to ask for a trade secret......the name of the color I used in her hair. That was absolutely ridiculous and not going to happen.


I do send products to clients and have even helped them find another stylist if I can't do their hair. Healthy separation tactics is something that everyone hasn't aquired.


___________________________

Dawn Michelle Williams is a licensed cosmetologist for the state of Maryland since the year 2000. She is the owner of Dawn Michelle's Salon in Hyattsville Maryland specializing in natural hairstyles. For information & appointments visit https://DawnMichelleSalon.com


Notes from the author:

I have a "Tales from a hairdresser " YouTube exclusive podcast series https://tinyurl.com/TalesFromAhairdresser

Those episodes drop 1x monthly during "on" seasons.. These blog articles dedicated to this subject drop every Tuesday at 3 pm EST.


During our "on" seasons for "Research Shows

….." podcast I have a segment dedicated to" Tales from a hairdresser ". Episodes air weekly Tuesdays at 3pm EST on most streaming platforms

. Click the link below to listen.



Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page