top of page

A technological revolution is coming

Hello this is Dawn M Williams. This is "My two cents" and if you happened to have press play, you are listening to "Research Shows Podcast". This is an exclusive episode dedicated to my blog so let's get into it.


I just heard today (along with other days) of notices that huge companies are now laying off large amounts of employees. This, in my opinion is indicative of a technological revolution. I cannot say it's necessarily a bad thing. I feel as though it is a money saving thing. So this brings me to the subject of 'Technology for Seniors'. Alot of the seniors I come across don't understand the sense of urgency in regards to understand understanding the sense of urgency in their regards to their phones .

(PRESS play to hear the audio version of this blog article)


They actually believe that a relative or a neighbor or somebody is always gonna be there to do the work for them because I guess it just seems too hard. But the more I come across a lot of my elders, I'm realizing it's a matter of 'they just don't feel like it'. Let me explain to you how serious this revolution is. Because it's very clear (at least in the United States) that they're reaching a point where they can't even pay off the national debt.


There are a lot of signs that there is a huge crash coming. I don't know what that means(for us), but I just know speaking from a small business perspective machines run my business. I'm a hairdresser, so for example a machine sends out notifications for my hair appointments. A machine or a computer asks clients after they've gotten their hair done "How much they liked their service" and to leave a review. A machine spaces out the appointments automatically for me (So that I can be sleep, and the machine will book the appointments on my behalf. (Especially) when I have those late I'm sorry when I have clients who decide to book appointments at 1 or 2:00 in the morning.

(Video of the technology advancements at Dunkin Donuts)


You see, I don't have to hire anybody and I don't want to hire anybody because I'm a small business owner and I can't afford to pay somebody salary. I can't even afford to pay myself a salary let alone the small stipend I give my son for doing tasks such as folding my towels. Now, if you hadn't noticed, I suggest you pay attention. But at this given point in time they did a shift in the state of Maryland least to where all of the motor vehicle services for the most part are done online. If you have to come in person you have to book an appointment online which goes back to you having to have an email. You have to be able to check your email. You have to know how to check a text message because that's how they're going to send a confirmation.

(Do) you know why they're sending it through text message? Because they're not going to pay a human being to send a text message when "Billy Bob" (the computer) can send it for them on a mass text. I want to leave this last portion of this article right here because the irony of this is that I am speaking into my phone right now which is in essence a computer application.


It is a miniature computer that's taking voice transcription and at the end of this I'm gonna stop the recording I'm gonna let the computer do the transcription. I'm going to put it in a blog article and I'm going to tell the computer when I want this article to come out because I have to run my organization as if a 100 people are running it for free to conserve costs. a serve costs as a small business owner


So, if I have to do this in a small business you know good and well (that) government entities are going to do the exact same thing. With that being said we're gonna close this out don't forget you can click on the link below to listen to full Podcast episodes so have a wonderful day on purpose.


Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page