top of page

Black people don't complain

I remember noticing this some years ago. The term we all know as "Karen", was something that we saw primarily with women that were not black. Although there was a constant stereotype that black people are always complaining, that's not what I saw. I didn't see it with my dad nor did I see it going into the customer service field. Calling corporate or emailing corporate it's just something that we don't do in general. It's an extreme measure. In other words I've got to be truly upset to take the time to write a letter to corporate.


As I was growing up I noticed that whenever my dad did not like a business or had a problem with customer service he would rarely complain. He would simply find another business to patronize and never look back. As I got older I did not understand this mindset. Especially once I became an entrepreneur.


I felt as though it was absolutely necessary to alert the business owner as to the problems going on in the business. It is as of recently probably within the past year or two that I've come to realize why my dad and many other black people just choose not to complain I simply stopped patronizing the business.


So why do many of us not complain to business owners?Coming from my standpoint it is because :

●More than likely the business owner already knows what's wrong with the business

● The business owner doesn't care about the problems going on in the business

● The business owner is fully aware that the management they hired is inefficient

● The manager of the business is fully aware that the business owner doesn't care how inefficient they are therefore they are able to behave in a tyrannical way

● The business owner is being trifling because he or she is trying to conserve costs

● The business owner and/or the manager is on some type of drugs, illegal or legal (ex

alcohol) substances.


So then it comes down to a decision. I got to the point after the passing of my father when the question I had to ask myself is " Am I going to intentionally be upset or pay more to be happy?". I have stopped patronizing countless businesses since the passing of my father in 2020 because of how incompetent they were.


I simply don't have the time to invest in the anger and the calm down time. I'd rather just leave and find somebody who actually wants my money. And I find the order that I get the less I want to complain to the owner. I rather not say anything.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page