top of page

CRAZY SALON CLIENTS

Tales from a hairdresser

- Opinion piece from a licensed cosmetologist 


We've all had a client (or at least we all may encounter one in the future) that has a lot of drama. It's important to know when to draw the line. I say this because there are tell-tale signs that you'll either be caught up in their mess or summoned to court as a witness to their mess. Here are some tell tale signs you should be aware of


1.Their spouse contacts you to question you.


FIRST of all, this is absolutely ridiculous.  Yes, I've experienced this. I was so embarrassed for the client. Her husband called me because she left her phone at home by accident.  I picked up thinking it was her. He called as soon as she left. He was verifying if she actually got her hair done. As if to say he didn't trust her.


It took me months to tell her. I only told her because she was talking about him contacting someone else.  


This situation is completely unacceptable. It's none of my business what your marriage issues are. To involve me in this mess could have me ending up on an episode of Snapped. People get crazy when it comes to their spouses.


2. They keep telling you way too much information too soon.


I have clients I'm close to. Some clients are aware of my personal life (landlord issues,  health, etc) and others aren't.  They tell me their problems as well. But I must say, it takes YEARS before they start divulging serious information.  I'm not a therapist, I'm a hairdresser. 


One client was caught up in a drama filled situation.  Actually, he was the caregiver for my actual client.  So communication was through him 100% of the time. Before you knew it I did a home visit and police were called. He was in a financial war with the nurses, her family & her accountant. I realized he was only "confiding " in me because he needed witnesses in court. That was not going to be me. I ended up parting ways with him.


3. They trash talk their previous stylist too soon.


This is an immediate red flag. I met a lady a year or so ago. As she's asking for an appointment,  she mentioned her previous stylist 'blocked' her. I immediately sent her out of my salon. I know why I've blocked clients. They're crazy. Why would I block money unless it's from a crazy source?


Another incident a few years ago happened. I'm in a salon suite setting. I heard arguing and soon it made its way to my door. The client was upset with her stylist and proceeded to talk bad about the lady loudly. It was so ridiculous. It's ridiculous because as an outsider, I don't know who to believe. Quite frankly it's none of my business. I really don't want to participate in the gossip party because you'll probably do the same thing to me. 


___________________________

Dawn Michelle Williams is a licensed cosmetologist for the state of Maryland since the year 2000. She is the owner of Dawn Michelle's Salon in Hyattsville  Maryland specializing in natural hairstyles. For information & appointments visit https://DawnMichelleSalon.com 


Notes from the author:

I have a "Tales from a hairdresser " YouTube exclusive podcast series https://tinyurl.com/TalesFromAhairdresser 

Those episodes drop 1x monthly during "on" seasons.. These blog articles dedicated to this subject drop every Tuesday at 3 pm EST.


During our "on" seasons for "Research Shows

….." podcast I have a segment dedicated to" Tales from a hairdresser ". Episodes air weekly Tuesdays at 3pm EST on most streaming platforms 

. Click the link below to listen.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page