top of page

Family caregivers

There is a viscous transition that occurs when an adult child becomes a caregiver to an elderly parent.

I had the opportunity to interview Delanda McNair. It was a heartfelt interview about her journey caring for her mom full time. This

transfer of power is extremely heartbreaking for both parties. The parent doesn't want to be a burden and the child doesn't want to give the appearance that it's overwhelming.

This is something that crosses all lines(demographics, race, religion etc). When I was a caregiver to my late father, I found solace in many online Facebook groups. I had no idea so many people were going through this.


The interesting part is that I worked in a nursing home for years prior to being a family caregiver. It is NOT the same. I even have client who is a nursing assistant and she agreed. When she cared for her loved one, it was much more difficult . It's more emotional because in a sense you're mourning the loss of who that parent USED to be before they even pass.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page