top of page

Giving advice

Everyone doesn't ask for advice nor does everyone want your advice. I remember giving a lady advice a year or so ago regarding business and her going off. She was soliciting vendors for an event. All the methods of payments had no buyer protection nor did she have a stable address.

Stock image : Pexels

I told her she may be deterring prospective vendors for the aforementioned reasons and she became really upset & dismissive. She said something to the effect of "not everyone has a store front" like I did. It was clear she thought my advice came from a place of belittling her. Anyone who knows me knows I don't walk around with such intentions. In fact, once I find someone who loves exchanging advice we have "advice exchanging " sessions. What I'm proficient at, you may not be & vice versa.

Stock image: Pexels

All that to say, after that encounter I try to be careful offering advice. Many times I wait until they ask. I felt it was apparent the lady above needed help because clearly she needed it. She was a month or so out prior to the vendor event and was still soliciting. I thought my advice would help her understand why some people may be hesitant & persuade her to get a paypal account. All she saw was one thing in my statement & felt inferior.


It's taken me years to attempt to understand that everyone doesn't reason the same way. Oftentimes people who feel inferior, give advice in an attempt to be condescending. So imagine thinking like that, and assuming everyone else thinks like that. You'd never take advice. You'd only talk AT people and not WITH people.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page