top of page

How to increase your salon or salon suite income

How can you increase revenue at your salon, barber shop or salon suite?


1. Increase retail sales


Your regular clients want to support you. I've found most often that I don't have to do much selling for retail sales. The clients almost always ask which products are good for maintaining their hairstyle. You can mark it up as you are providing a convenience.  Be sure to get a retail/traders license from the county 1st. You can easily double a ticket sale with retail.  I realized years ago that people may not tip but they'll buy a retail item.


2. Allow someone to share your suite with you. 


This is for those who are renting a salon suite. There is a special feeling I get when I get money for simply providing a space for another contractor to work. Be sure to make a contract and get a camera to ensure you know when people are in there.


3. Increase prices 

Now, just don't go increasing prices all willy nilly. 1st access if your services and salon is worth the price increase. I made a policy that if I hadn't seen you in over a year, you are paying the "new client rate". Just like auto insurance charges new drivers more, I do too. So my long-time clients have the same rate as where they started if they come regularly. 


Here are some things I did before announcing a price increase 

  • Thoroughly cleaned the salon

  • Updated my wardrobe 

  • Offered snacks & water to clients

  • Painted & updated the salon

  • Fussed with my landlord about keeping the building up to code. 


Just think about it. When you see updates to any store, you almost always see a price increase soon afterwards.

___________________________

Dawn Michelle Williams is a licensed cosmetologist for the state of Maryland since the year 2000. She is the owner of Dawn Michelle's Salon in Hyattsville  Maryland specializing in natural hairstyles. For information & appointments visit https://DawnMichelleSalon.com 


Notes from the author:

I have a "Tales from a hairdresser " YouTube exclusive podcast series https://tinyurl.com/TalesFromAhairdresser 

Those episodes drop 1x monthly. These blog articles dedicated to this subject drop every Tuesday at 3 pm EST..


During our "on" seasons for "Research Shows

….." podcast I have a segment dedicated to" Tales from a hairdresser ". Episodes air weekly Tuesdays at 3pm EST on most streaming platforms 

. Click the link below to listen.


Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page