top of page

The HOLLYWOOD writers strike

This subject has been quite confusing for me. On one hand my heart goes out to the people in this industry. On the other I'm thinking "But aren't they contractors? ".

(Above: a video by @TROYCETV where he eloquently explains the situation and critiques it appropriately)


1.When you're self employed.....if you're broke it's your fault


I know this is a hard pill to swallow. I truly empathize with this statement. I've had to start over several times. I've blamed others from the beauty industry, family, demographics, products, etc. Eventually, I had to blame myself. Self employed means Dawn is the supervisor.


During this clip where this child actor was asking for a livable wage and health insurance I was thinking "AREN'T YOU A CONTRACTOR?!?". We get our own health insurance. We hustle our own wages. Which brings me to point #2


2. They have the power to be social media influencers

(Above: B Love. A social media influencer who had had millions)


Not only does this avenue pay good money, Hollywood writers, actors , actresses etc have the pull and following to push this. All these influencers who are bringing in healthy income well over 6 figures isn't all made up. Yes, it's literally a job. Yes it's extremely difficult. But it's clear with the onset of A.I. , streaming and other hindrances another avenue is quickly forming. We all need to jump on this train until the next stop in my opinion.


3. Livable wage


This child star who was also complaining about expenses made me ponder upon something. It took me 20+ years in to implement a few things

●Go over your bank statements and cancel subscriptions that aren't necessary (streaming, etc)

●Move to another location (cheaper) & commute into work.

●Homeschool the child instead of private school. There are many co ops or online learning alternatives

●Shop at discounted grocery stores instead of the expensive ones

●Pack drinks & snacks each and every time you leave the house


__________________________

Dawn Michelle Williams is a licensed cosmetologist for the state of Maryland since the year 2000. She is the owner of Dawn Michelle's Salon in Hyattsville  Maryland specializing in natural hairstyles. For information & appointments visit https://DawnMichelleSalon.com 


Notes from the author:

I have a "Tales from a hairdresser " YouTube exclusive podcast series https://tinyurl.com/TalesFromAhairdresser 

Those episodes drop 1x monthly during "on" seasons.. These blog articles dedicated to this subject drop every Tuesday at 3 pm EST.


During our "on" seasons for "Research Shows

….." podcast I have a segment dedicated to" Tales from a hairdresser ". Episodes air weekly Tuesdays at 3pm EST on most streaming platforms. Click the link below to listen.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page