top of page

When to stop freebies

(To listen to this article instead of reading it, press play on the video)

Hello this is Dawn M Williams this is "My two cents" and if you happen to press play you are listening to research shows Podcast. This is a bonus episode dedicated to my blog so let's get into it. This particular episode relates to business and I am just going to make this a quick storytime.


So, everyone who knows me pretty much knows I have a business venture that I've been trying to get off of the off of the ground entitled "Technology for Seniors" . And I've noticed that it's very difficult to get seniors who are not in a nursing home setting to embrace learning technology. So, in actuality they want their relatives and other people to do tasks for them and to be quite honest it's lazy in a sense.

(TO HEAR THIS ARTICLE IN AUDIO FORMAT, PRESS PLAY ABOVE)



Now, a lot of us are lazy in a lot of different senses. We're not out milking our own cows, we're not out digging our own holes, we're not out building our own buildings and et cetera. The point is, is that if you don't feel like doing something and you want somebody to do it for you that's called a 'service' and with a service comes a fee. And I just had this epiphany upon talking with my husband. When the last person that just canceled (who) was not internet savvy but needed something done on the Internet that had to do with government services and canceled because of a bingo game.


That is absolutely ridiculous, but it made me realize that when you are trying to get a business off of the ground, free services a lot of times don't get you places. The only thing I utilize free services for that has been effective is things that I am not good at initially. So for example, when I had to practice teaching the technology for seniors class I got good at it by giving the free classes. But to continue with the free services make no logical sense.


So if you're going to give out a discount on a free services, have a limit and a goal( and a cut off). Because even the sweetest of people will take advantage and think that it's no big deal to cancel out on appointments and cancel out on your time for free services. So don't forget to click on a link below if you want to listen to full Podcast episodes and have a wonderful day on purpose.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page