top of page

Why seniors are scared of technology



Sometimes seniors don't like to use technology due to previous traumas. During 1 of my classes I met a man who fell for a scam that resulted in his accounts being wiped out. His solution was to avoid technology altogether & stick with a flip phone. He was embarrassed.  In fact, he was only in my class accompanying another senior. 


We need to be a bit more compassionate when it comes to our seniors understanding technology.  It can be overwhelming. It's like looking at something you don't understand and not knowing what to do with it. It's mandatory for them to understand it because not dealing with it could render them incompetent. Incompetence could mean loss of independence. 


The 1st thing that comes to mind for me as a perfect analogy is TAXES. I knew for a long time I needed efficient record keeping because I'm a small business owner.  For example 

  • Mileage tracking 

  • Book keeping 

  • Profit/loss statements 

  • Ein #

  • Registration with the state 


I avoided it until the inevitable came….an IRS audit! After that point I had to acknowledge that after 15 YEARS of entrepreneurship I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT I WAS DOING. I then paid for a consultation with an accountant who then gave me valuable advice about simple bookkeeping software.  A client gave me advice about a mileage tracking app and so on.


Seniors need a point of action & I'm determined for Technology for Seniors to be that. We hold classes, events (in-person & online) and I've even incorporated all of it into my App. The app is simple and has classes on it. I also have also written books available on Amazon to bridge the gap between learning styles.


If you know a senior, buy a book today for them!


Technology for Seniors 



Phone : (240)516-6922

My other businesses: https://iamdawnwilliams.com



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page