top of page

When your client cancels

When I first started doing hair years ago, I thought it was the end of the world when clients canceled. A coworker then told me to make the most of my time when that happened.

It took years to appreciate that advice. Sometimes when bills are due, anxiety can set in when a client doesn't show. You expected that money & had no plan B for if they canceled.


I'm writing this on the day of Eid Al-Adha. I had 2 clients cancel (aka $100+ dollars). Instead of concentrating on the lost money, I accepted reality. It suddenly occurred to me that my son & I could now go to Eid service at 8am. Perhaps the cancelation you received was a sign to do something else. Stay calm and it may be revealed to you why you were blessed with the free time.

Here are a few tips I've learned over these 2 decades doing hair to do during cancelation periods.

Work on unfinished projects

● Cut your PERSONAL expenses so cancelations won't effect you as much

●Leave items in that cart on Amazon for a few days to search for better deals. Avoid impulse buying to save money.

● Use these days to run errands

● Use the days to rest

● Clean your salon or station on these days

To place an AD: Tinyurl.com/PhcclassesAd

_____________

Dawn Michelle Williams is a licensed cosmetologist for the state of Maryland since the year 2000. She is the owner of Dawn Michelle's Salon in Hyattsville  Maryland specializing in natural hairstyles. For information & appointments visit https://DawnMichelleSalon.com 


Notes from the author:


For Clients 

I have a "Tales from a hairdresser " YouTube exclusive podcast series https://tinyurl.com/TalesFromAhairdresser 

Those episodes drop 1x monthly during "on" seasons.. These blog articles dedicated to this subject drop every Tuesday at 3 pm EST.


During our "on" seasons for "Research Shows

….." podcast I have a segment dedicated to" Tales from a hairdresser ". Episodes air weekly Tuesdays at 3pm EST on most streaming platforms. https://Tinyurl.com/DawnPodcast 



For BEAUTY & BARBER PROFESSIONALS 

I will be launching the Prohairclasses podcast segments on YouTube starting in November of 2023. These articles will be released weekly on Tuesdays at 9am EST. Click the picture below to listen & subscribe. 



0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page