top of page

Is homeschooling the right decision?

Updated: Jun 25, 2023

I believe this depends on the family. The answer to that question can be very difficult to answer. When we may our decision it was based off of circumstance. In my heart I always wanted to homeschool but I felt as though there was no way possible I can do that and work at the same time.

In fact I was working towards generating enough income to where I wouldn't have to physically go into work because I thought that was contingent upon being a homeschool mom. Boy was I wrong. Check out the video below. It was my absolute favorite field trip thus far.


There are plenty of working parents who put their children into co-ops. Another concern that I had was the socialization part. I only felt that way because a lot of people would say to me " How does he socialize" out of their own negative projections. You'll find that many people who think negatively about homeschooling don't even know one person who has been homeschooled . Once I started understanding how to research how he could socialize it became like second nature. There are plenty of volunteer groups.


Each state gets federal funding that goes towards Parks and Recreation. In my state which is Maryland, there are plenty of free programs. Also, family is a way to socialize. I think that a lot of us are disconnected from family so we don't even think that visiting them is a priority because we're so busy.

In fact there are many state programs that have activities specifically for homeschoolers. It's just a matter of you being resourceful and looking. Do your research and make an informed decision. Ours was based off of the pandemic and the county couldn't make up its mind whether or not they wanted to open the schools or not. I was tired of it and I thought maybe I should give home schooling a try. My child loved it and we're still going strong two years later.

One thing that I must say about homeschooling is that you will have to learn with your child. Just like teachers go through training to understand how to teach children, you are going to have to research subjects first and then teach them to your child if you're going to go the cheapest route. I did have him in a paid programming but he did not like it. He liked the lesson plans that I came up with.







16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page