top of page

Why are you angry?

There was a meme I saw a year or so ago. I don't know who wrote this meme but I live by this. It said "Anger is the inability or the unwillingness to solve a problem". I remember when I read this, I was thinking about somebody else. I was literally projecting this statement on to somebody else. Even though it was deserving, that meme was for me. It was written by Allah for me to see that phrase.

The older I get the more I realize I'm going to stay angry until I solve whatever problem is at hand or accept that it isn't my problem to solve. How I got really good at strategizing and problem solving was being in the field of Entrepreneurship. When you have a business you are paid to solve other people's problems.


So when you're used to solving other people's problems, it's a bit easier to strategize and solve your own problems. So for example when something goes wrong in my business I come up with a policy. It was probably within the past 5 years that I started implementing separate policies for my life.


For example, I used to be upset when clients would call all times of the night expecting me to pick up the phone to give them appointments. But at the same time I wasn't solving the problem of giving them a way to book appointments when I'm not able to pick up the phone. I didn't have the resources to pay a full-time receptionist, but I also didn't want to pick up the phone after 5:00 p.m. weekdays.

My way of solving the problem came by solving a separate problem with a difficult client. I forced her to utilize an online system that I never used Setmore.com. So since I made her book her own appointment online I now had to shift my manual written appointment system to this automated appointment system so all the schedules coincide. That was the best result of handling a difficult client that has happened in my entire career.


Clients can now book appointments all times of the night and I don't have to do anything but show up. And the system is free!


So let's recap the two policies that I made.

●The first policy is to utilize the online system so that clients are able to book appointments when I am not available.

●The second policy for my personal life was to put my phone on do not disturb after 5:00 p.m. weekdays.

This way even if a clients were to call my phone I would never notice. And I'm able to have my personal time with my family undisturbed.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page