top of page

Starting a podcast | The basics

Updated: Jul 30, 2023

If you're ready start your podcast, let me give you some tips of what I would want to have known initially. Podcasting is easier said than done.

(Podcast episode above | I discussed a few words of advice you need regarding starting a podcast )


1.UTILIZE FREE RESOURCES

Spotify for podcastors is a free platform. I use it for my podcast. It's easy to use. Many of my episodes were recorded straight from my phone. I personally DO NOT typically use the headpiece unless I'm in the car, doing a visual podcastor on a zoom call.


Guests can easily be aquired through Facebook groups or Matchmaker.fm . Release forms for guests can easily be made with Jotform for free. Check out my release form here.


Headliner app let's you create audio grams. You do not always have to have your face on camera. Here is an example of an audiogram.


2. USE IT FOR DUAL PURPOSES

When you create a video like the one in this article, download the audio from YouTube and use it as a podcast episode. Creating content is exhausting! It's tedious work. Utilize as many platforms as possible. For example, my 1 video above served as content for my blog, YouTube channel , and Podcast on other streaming platforms.


Consistency is key in this venture. It's much easier to recycle old content than to constantly recreate new content daily. You'll need to be posting episodes regularly. I've sectioned my podcast into seasons. During off seasons, I let repeat episodes play 1x weekly. I do 2-3 seasons a year. I also schedule episodes to be released so I won't be overwhelmed.


3. USE YOUTUBE TO BREAK UP PODCASTS INTO SHORTS

YouTube let's you break up your long videos into short videos. Simply hit the "remix" button and you can cut out samples of a large video to make a YouTube short. This can increase views. It has worked for me.


(Above: A video I made about asthma. Click here to listen)


I offer business consulting for those who need individual help with your podcast. Sometimes you have to admit when you need someone to hold your hand through a process.


Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page